Thanksgiving

November 26, 2012

So as we PCTs were busy with the final days of model school on Thanksgiving Day, we celebrated on the Saturday following. Instead of telling the stories of killing and butchering and cooking for 75 using only charcoal stove, I will say what I am thankful for this year.

1. My incredible family in the USA (and South Korea) who are so supportive and loving (and can pack a damn good care package).

2. My PCT family that listends when I need to vent, agrees and joins when I need a cold beer, splits and avocado when I can’t finish it or just give me a hug when I really need one. We left Atlanta with 34 trainees, and to this day (and I am typing this up on December 3) we still have 34 trainees. From what people have said, this is pretty unusual, which I think shows how wonderful our group is as a whole.

3. My Rwandan host family (an entire blog to come on them) who are so supportive and wonderful even when we can’t fully understand each other or when my Mama makes me re-wash my jeans because they didn’t get clean enough the first time I tried (and trust that there is nothing worse than hand washing jeans in the rainy season).

4. The wonderful LCFs (Rwandan teachers who teach us the language and culture) that make sure I can communicate and live in this country.

5. That my laptop can last for a week if used properly.

6. That in a week and a half I will be living with electricity and a water pump in my courtyard.

7. That I know one drink mix-in can actually make double what is says on the package.

8. That I’ve lost three belt loops since coming to this country.

9. The great community of volunteers in this country who are so supportive of the trainees.

10. That M23 has stayed on the Congo side of the border

11. That the moon here can actually be used as a light when it is full. And that the stars here are unrivaled by anything I have ever seen.

12. That in a week and a half I can make my favorite pasta with garlic salt and Parmesan cheese again (thanks KC for forever making me obsessed with that dish, that I will even be making it in Rwanda).

13. That I made it through my first big holiday away from home and loved ones. To everyone out there reading this, thank you for everything. You are loved and you are missed, especially during this holiday season. I won’t pretend that it was easy, but it makes it easier knowing what an incredible support system I have.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. And you are loved and missed! I look forward to the phone calls, especially the ones where you talk at a normal pace (normal for most of us), and I can understand most of what you say. I am thankful for having children who care enough to try and make this world a better place. I am so proud of you! Love you so much. Mom xoxox

Leave a Reply

